Accreditation is the means of self-regulation and peer review adopted by the educational community.  The purpose of accreditation is to strengthen and sustain the quality and integrity of higher education, ensuring that it is worthy of public confidence (MSCHE 2006).  Lincoln University is regionally accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.  Middle States Accreditation is an expression of confidence in the Institution’s mission, goals, performance and resources.

The Commission employs 7 standards or characteristics of excellence in the accreditation process.  Accreditation institutions are expected to demonstrate these standards in substantial measure. The standards include:

  1. Mission and Goals
  2. Ethics and Integrity
  3. Design and Delivery of the Student Learning Experience
  4. Support of the Student Experience
  5. Educational Effectiveness Assessment
  6. Planning, Resources, and Institutional Improvement
  7. Governance, Leadership, and Administration

A statement of the University’s current accreditation status can be found at

Additionally, Lincoln University has the following specialized accreditations and certifications: