Student Location Policy

This policy is in accordance with federal code amendment34 CFR--PART §600.9(c)(2)(ii) effective as of July 1, 2020 and the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (NC-SARA) rules listed in the NC-SARA Manual 21.1.  

The location of each student is determined by the information provided at the time of enrollment into the academic program. It is the student’s responsibility to inform the university if their location has changed during their enrollment. All students participating in activities outside of Pennsylvania must notify the university of their change of location. If students change their location for other reasons not related to participating in academic activities, they, also, must notify the university of their change of location.

This policy applies to students in all modalities including but not limited to students who are enrolled in the following:

  • online programs

  • online courses including online summer school

  • hybrid courses

  • face-to-face courses

  • out-of-state learning placements including but not limited to clinical rotations, internships, community services, fellowships, undergraduate research, or student teaching

  • study-abroad programs

  • enrollment in Lincoln University online courses while out of the state of Pennsylvania


  • National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity AgreementSARA is an agreement among member states, districts and territories that establishes comparable national standards for interstate offer of postsecondary distance education. When states join SARA, they agree to follow uniform processes for approving their eligible institutions' participation.  They also agree to deal with other states' SARA institutions in a common way when those institutions carry out activities in SARA states other than their own.

    SARA's policies help protect students and provide benefits to both states and institutions carrying out distance education in multiple states.  As of July 2019, 49 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands are members of SARA.  About 1,993 colleges and universities are SARA members.

  • Residence: The state in which the student has legal residence.

  • Location: The state in which the student is located while engaged in Lincoln University educational activities.

  • Time of Enrollment: The student's initial enrollment into any Lincoln University program and not the time of the student's initial application to the institution. 

Please check this site again for updates.

Effective: July 1, 2020