The Strategic Planning Council

The Strategic Planning Council was established by President Allen who appointed faculty, staff, students, alumni and trustees with the following charge:

The role of the Lincoln University Strategic Planning Council is:
  • To advise the president on the development, coordination, integration and evaluation of the strategic plan;
  • To study and interpret data relevant to the institution and the external environment;
  • To assist in engaging the total institutional community as fully as possible in the planning process and in communicating with key stakeholders.

Three task forces were established to assist with key components of the planning process. The Situation Analysis Task Force was responsible for collecting and interpreting data to better understand the planning context and identify strategic issues. The Stakeholders Conference Task Force assisted in planning a large group event designed to engage the university’s major stakeholders in the planning process. The Outcomes and Measures Task Force developed outcome statements and suggested ways to measure progress toward achieving the mission and vision.

Strategic Plan Implementation

Council Members

Position and titles as of November 2019





Brenda A. Allen, President Emmanuel Babatunde, Chair, Sociology & Criminal Justice Kim Anderson, Director, Financial Aid Chandler Abston, First-year student
Diane Brown, Chief of Staff Brandi Berry, Assistant Professor, Mass Communications Marion Bernard-Amos, Assistant Provost for Faculty Affairs Phylicia Ayim-Bey, Student Veteran Affairs Representative 
Dorcas Colvin, Interim Senior Advisor to the President Jeffrey Chapp, Associate Professor, Visual & Performing Arts Kathy Comisiak, Capital Projects Program Manager Natalya Coote, Student Research Assistant, OIERP
Evelyn Davis-Poe, Associate Vice President for Student Success and Academic Support Hope E. Dameron, Assistant Professor, Business & Entrepreneurial Studies Dafina Diabate, Director, International Programs Devin Marshall, First-year student
Frederick Faison, Associate Vice President for Student Success, Health and Wellness Mahipeas Deas, Upperclassman Dean & Associate Professor, Languages and Literature Brian Dubenion, Associate Vice President for Student Success & Dean of Students Christian Robinson, Upperclass student
Charles Gradowski, Vice President for Finance & Administration Dejene Dedefa, Lecturer, Computer Science Nancy Evans, Project Manager & Classroom Technology Specialist, CETL Imani Ross, First-year student
Patricia Joseph, Dean of Faculty William Donohue, Assistant Professor & Director of Freshman Composition, Languages and Literature Crystal Faison, Director, Internship Services Jalen Scott Davis, Student Senate Representative
Lenetta Lee, Vice President of Student Success & Dean of the College Carla Gallagher, Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Physics Gerard Garlic, Director, Institutional Equity Mariah Stanton, Upperclass student
Tiffany Lee, Assistant Provost for Institutional Effectiveness, Research, and Planning Anna Hull, Chair & Associate Professor, Biology Jernice Lea, Director, Student Services & Admissions, SACE Kayla Wallington, Upperclass student
Justin McKenzie, Chief Information Officer Melina McConatha, Assistant Professor, Psychology & Human Services Michael Lynch, Director, Center for Undergraduate Research Anya Wescott, Upperclass student
Marc Partee, Director of Public Safety Ranjan Naik, Associate Professor, Mathematical Sciences Marlayne Manley, Sophomore & Transition Class Dean Vacant, SGA Presentation
Provost & Vice President  of Academic Affairs Lauretta Ovadje, Assistant Professor, Health Science Kisha Middleton, Assistant Athletics Director, Senior Woman Administrator, Deputy Title IX Coordinator                                                                                                                                                                 
Harry Stinson III,  Director of Athletics & Recreational Services Sharvette Philmon, Director & Associate Professor, Nursing Shelley Mix, Associate Vice President, Communications & Public Relations  
Jake Tanksley, Vice President for Human Resources Zizwe Poe, Professor, History, Political Science, & Philosophy & Director, Horace Mann Bond Honors Program Charles Ricketts, Special Events & Conference Services Manager  
Kimberly Taylor-Benns, Associate Provost for Enrollment Management Teresa Powell, Chair & Assistant Professor, Education, SACE Tamarkius Roby, Director, Veteran Affairs  
Mellissia Zanjani, Vice President for Institutional Advancement Oswald Richards, Associate Dean of Faculty & Professor, Division of Academic Affairs Fred-Rick Roundtree, Assistant Provost & Director of CETL  
  Carla Sarratt, Director, Langston Hughes Memorial Library Nancy Smith, Director of Assessment, OIERP  
  Sophia Sotilleo, Associate Professor, Langston Hughes Memorial Library Joseph Tillman, Network Engineer, Information Technology  
  James Wadley, Chair & Associate Professor, Human Services, SACE Vacant, Assistant Bursar