Six New Members of the Lincoln Athletics Hall of Fame Announced

The Lincoln Athletics Hall of Fame Committee has chosen six new members. The new members are:

  • Dr. Robert Johnson Class of 1922 for Football and his contribution to the sport of tennis (inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame in 2009),
  • Juan Edney class of 1988 for track & field,
  • Alondra Woodard class of 1993 for track & field,
  • Jordean Mathews class of 2009 for track & field, volleyball and softball,
  • Sterling Wright class of 1955 for basketball and
  • Shannon McCants class of 1994 for basketball.

The new members come from era in Lincoln's history that span 100 years which is a testament to the legacy of excellence that is Lincoln.

The induction ceremony will take place September 9, 2016 in Manuel Rivero Hall at 7:00 pm.

Tickets are $50.00 for the event which includes admission to the football game the next day Saturday at 1:00 pm, where each inductee will be introduced at half-time. Proceeds from the ceremony will go to the athletics program for equipment and upgrades to the facilities. For tickets and more information please contact the athletic department at 484-365-7391 or 484-365-7632.