RES #### (Amend Faculty Council Motion Previously Adopted regarding Faculty By-Laws consistent language with CBA and administrative organizational chart)

WHEREAS, the By-Laws Committee was tasked with making changes to the Faculty By-Laws to better reflect the University's new administrative structure;

WHEREAS, the administration decided to no longer organize the University into separate colleges and rename the graduate teaching faculty, yet an organizational method is needed for faculty committee membership;

WHEREAS, the Faculty Council previously voted to recommend the wording of the motion brought forth by the By-Laws Committee in their Faculty Council Proposal Summary presented at the 28 January 2021 Faculty Council meeting with a proviso that the sections listed in the wording were double checked;

BE IT RESOLVED

That the Faculty Council amends the motion previously adopted to recommend references in the Faculty By-laws of "College" or "Colleges" to be replaced by "Discipline" or "Disciplines" and "graduate faculty" to be replaced by "School of Adult and Continuing Education (SACE)" in the following instances:

4.01 c A minimum of two faculty members must be from each discipline, including one member from SACE.

5.09 a The Committee on Admissions, Academic Standing, and Financial Aid:

Composed of five members elected by the Faculty, three from the Undergraduate Faculty and two from SACE, the Director of the Graduate Center or designee, the Director of Undergraduate Admissions or Designee, the Registrar or designee, the Director of Financial Aid or designee, and the Director of the Academic Advising Center or designee.

5.09 b. The Committee on Assessment and Evaluation:

Composed of one Faculty person from each discipline, one from the professional staff in the Library, one from SACE, the Vice-President for Academic Affairs, the Director of Assessment, the Director of

Institutional Effectiveness, Research, and Planning, one alum on staff, one undergraduate student, and one graduate student.

5.09 e The Curriculum Committee:

Composed of the Vice President for Academic Affairs, the Registrar, four elected members of the Faculty, one from each of the schools of study, one from the SACE, and two students.

5.09 f The Committee on Distance Learning:

Composed of four elected faculty members, one from each discipline and one at large. A minimum of two of the elected faculty members must be trained in online learning and have taught at least one online or hybrid course.

5.09 g The Committee on Educational Policies:

Composed of the Vice President for Academic Affairs (chairperson), two students, and five members elected by the Faculty, one from each discipline, one at large, one from SACE, and the Registrar. This committee shall meet at least once per academic semester with the Academic Affairs Committee of the Board of Trustees.

5.09 e Faculty Research and Development Committee:

Composed of one elected member from each discipline, one elected from the Library, one elected from SACE, three elected at large, the Vice President for Academic Affairs, and two students.

5.09 j. The Committee on General Education:

Composed of nine members elected by the Faculty, one representative from the Administration, and one student. The elected members include two Faculty members from each discipline (one from each discipline must have General Education instructional responsibilities), one Faculty member from the Library, and two Faculty members at large. The Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs or his/her designee represents the Administration, and the student is elected/appointed by the Student Government Association.

5.09 o The Committee on Nominations:

Composed of three members elected by the Faculty, one from each discipline, and one student.

5.09 p The Committee on Post-Tenure Review:

Composed of six tenured faculty members (one undergraduate faculty member from each discipline, one from the library, one from the Graduate Facility, and one appointed by the Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs). A faculty member serving during a year when he/she isundergoing post-tenure review must step down from the committee for that year.

5.09 q The Pre-Tenure Review Committee:

Composed of three tenured members elected by the Faculty (one from each discipline)

5.09 r The Committee on Promotions, Tenure, and Severance:

Composed of three members elected by the Faculty, one from each discipline. Only members of the Faculty on permanent tenure and of Professor rank shall be eligible for election. The Chairperson of the committee shall be the elected Faculty member with seniority on the committee. An alternate member shall be elected each year from the discipline of the retiring member of the committee to participate in discussions and voting when a regular member of the committee is unavailable, for any reasons, to participate in the discussion and voting on a given application. The alternate member becomes a full member of the Committee for three years in succession to the retiring member of the Committee.

5.09 t The Study Abroad Committee:

Shall be composed of three elected undergraduate Faculty members (one from each Discipline), one Faculty from the graduate program, one from the Foreign language Faculty, one from the international Relations program, the director of the Horace Mann Bond Honors Program or a designee, two students who have studied abroad, the Dean of Students or designee, and one representative from each of the following offices: Registrar's Office, Financial and Enrollment. The Director of the Office of International Programs and Services and the Study Abroad Academic Advisor will serve as *ex officio* members.

5.09 u The Library and Information Technology Committee:

Composed of the Head Librarian, eight members elected by the Faculty, two from each discipline, one from the library, and one from SACE, the Chair of the Mathematics Department, the Chair of the Computer Science Department, the Director of IT, the Director of Academic Technology Support, the Associate VP for External Relations, Marketing & Communications, and two students.