THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Lincoln University Lincoln University, PA

RESOLUTION 724 February 11, 2023

AMENDMENTS TO THE FACULTY BY-LAWS ARTICLE AMENDMENTS TO THE BY-LAWS

RES724 021123

WHEREAS, The Faculty By-Laws of Lincoln University is the official document governing the policy directives of the Faculty; and

WHEREAS, the language needs to amended to reflect the current organizational structure and the governance of faculty standing committees needs to be clarified

WHEREAS, the Faculty proposed and approved changes to the current language in the Faculty Bylaws, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Lincoln University Board of Trustees approves the following amendment to Article(s) and Sections(s) in the Faculty By-Laws, as amended, as follows:

Article I Membership of the Faculty Section 1.04

In the event that there is no Vice President of Academic Affairs, references any reference to the position is delegated to the Provost

Article IV: Faculty Council

Section 4.01: Membership

- a. The Faculty Council shall consist of nine elected members of the Faculty who are not administrative officers at the level of Dean, Vice President, or President as follows:
- b. A maximum of two faculty members may be non-tenured tenure-track.
- c. A minimum of two faculty members must be from each undergraduate division and one member from the School of Adult and Continuing Education (SACE).
- d. The Parliamentarian and Faculty Representative to the Board of Trustees shall be an ex officio nonvoting members of the Faculty Council. In the event that the either of these is also elected to the Faculty Council, the member will be permitted to vote based on their position as an elected member to the faculty council.

Section 4.02: Election and Terms

- a. The Faculty Nominating Committee shall present a list of candidates for Faculty Council for the following academic year to the Faculty in the first March Faculty meeting.
- b. Election for the Faculty Council shall be by secret ballot at the March meeting.

Section 4.08: Meetings

g. The Faculty Council shall meet on the second Tuesday of each month during the academic year. One additional meeting can be called by the Executive Committee to not conflict with regularly scheduled meetings.

Section 4.09: Annulment

- a. A motion to annul the Faculty Council must be made by Oct. 31 of an academic year. A vote must be taken by May 15 of same academic year.
- b. Once moved to annul, the Bylaws Committee must schedule two hearings and follow bylaws amendment procedures for bylaws annulment.
- c. The By-laws Committee must inform the Board of Trustees and University President of motion to annul in writing.

Article V: Standing Committees & Other Elective or Appointed Positions

Section 5.01: Elections to committees shall be held by ballot at the first March Faculty meeting of the academic year, except that the Committee on Nominations shall be constituted at the first regular Faculty meeting in the second semester.

Section 5.08: Nominations. The Committee on Nominations shall make nominations for all elective posts at the first March Faculty meeting of the academic year. Any members of the Faculty qualified to vote may make additional nominations from the floor.

o. The Library and Information Technology Committee:

Composed of the Head Librarian, seven members elected by the Faculty, two from each undergraduate division, and one from SACE, the Chair of the Computer Science Department, Chief Information Officer, the Director of Academic Technology Support, the Associate VP for External Relations, Marketing & Communications, and two students.

s. The Committee on Promotions, Tenure, and Severance:

Composed of three elected members of Faculty, one from each undergraduate division. SACE shall be considered a part of the Social Sciences for committee representation. Only members of the Faculty on permanent tenure and of Professor rank shall be eligible for election. The Chairperson of the committee shall be the elected Faculty member with seniority on the committee. An alternate member shall be elected each year from the division of the retiring member of the committee to participate in discussions, and voting when a regular member of the committee is unavailable, for any reasons, to participate in the discussion and voting on a given application. The alternate member becomes a full member of the Committee for three years in succession to the retiring member of the

t. The Committee on Student Health and Welfare:

Composed of two administrative officers responsible for student affairs, five elected members of Faculty, one of whom shall serve as chairperson and shall vote in case of a tie, the Director of Student Health Services, and six students chosen from the upper classes by the Committee's Faculty members. The Committee shall be empowered to form a subcommittee to investigate, study and evaluate student attitudes, behavior, health and general welfare. A University designated physician, psychiatrist, or psychologist shall be consulted as the need arises.

v. The Faculty Committee on Writing:

Composed of six elected members of the Faculty including one from the Library, the Director of the English Composition Program, the director of the writing and reading center, and one student who has passed the Writing Proficiency Exam.

Article VI: Departments of Instruction & Department Chairpersons

Section 6.01: The Chairperson of each department shall be appointed by the President at the time contracts are issued, based on the recommendations of the Vice-President for Academic Affair, Dean of the Faculty, as well as all other faculty in his or her department.

Section 6.02: The Chairperson of each department shall serve a term of four academic years and may be reappointed for a second term. The Chairperson shall not serve more than two consecutive terms.

Section 6.03: Exceptions to 6.02 shall be determined by the President in consultation with the Vice-President for Academic Affairs, and the Dean of the Faculty.

Section 6.04: The performance of each Chairperson shall be reviewed annually by the Dean of the Faculty in consultation with the other Faculty members in the Chairperson's Department. The Dean shall submit a written annual report to the Vice President for Academic Affairs.

President, to the Vice-President for Academic Affairs, and to the Dean of the Faculty.

Section 6.07: The Chairperson shall be subject to the duties and responsibilities of members of the Faculty in 9.02.

Section 6.08: A department Chairperson may submit his or her resignation prior to the end of his or her term of service.

Section 6.09: A department Chairperson may be removed by the decision of the President on the recommendation of the Vice President for Academic Affairs in consultation with the Dean of the Faculty and members of his or her department.

Article VII: Divisions of the Faculty

Section 7.01: Departments of instruction shall be grouped into the following divisions: Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences, Natural Sciences, and the School of Adult and Continuing Education (SACE).

Section 7.02: Departments of instruction shall include all undergraduate and graduate degree programs.