DMS Leads Interdisciplinary Lincoln Team in \$1.5 Million, Multi-Institutional NSF Grant

DMS Chair, Dr. Claude Tameze, is currently leading an interdisciplinary DMS team that joined others from the University of Delaware and Delaware State University in receiving a \$1.5 million grant from the National Science Foundation. The grant was awarded as part of the NSF's Harnessing the Data Revolution Big Idea. The proposal will create the new Delaware and Mid-Atlantic Data Science Corps (DaMADScientistCorps), a data science network for training undergraduate students in the Delaware Valley.

Joining Dr. Tameze in this project are fellow DMS members Dr. Zachary Carson and Prof. Abel Ayele, along with Dr. Dejene Dedefa from the Department of Computer Science, and Dr. Christine Limb from the Department of Music, Visual & Performing Arts. This interdisciplinary team brings domain expertise from a wide variety of fields with data science applications, including materials science, engineering, astronomy, computer modeling, and the business and marketing side of the music industry.

As part of this project, our team here at Lincoln will also work with UD faculty experts in data science research and curricula to develop a new Data Science concentration for our department. This new concentration, along with Data Science Certification courses offered through the DaMADScientistCorps, will provide DMS students with the necessary skills to secure competitive professional employment and advanced study opportunities in the rapidly growing field of data science.

Congratulations to this outstanding interdisciplinary Lincoln team. We hope the DaMAD-ScientistCorps project is a great success, and we look forward to the many wonderful opportunities this data science network will bring to our students.

Department of Mathematical Sciences Faculty and Staff

Dr. Maiko Arichi Dr. Zachary Carson Dr. Moses Haimbodi Dr. Jawahar Pathak Dr. Vesna Zeljkovic Prof. Abel Ayele Dr. Michael Faulkner Dr. Panakkal Mathew Dr. Claude Tameze Dr. Tong Banh Ms. Cecelia Gatheca Dr. Ranjan Naik Dr. Penglong Xu