Advancing the Legacy of Excellence

Create your free online surveys with SurveyMonkey, the world's leading questionnaire tool.

About Beta Beta Beta

Beta Beta Beta (TriBeta) is a society for students, particularly undergraduates, dedicated to improving the understanding and appreciation of biological study and extending boundaries of human knowledge through scientific research. Since its founding in 1922, more than 200,000 persons have been accepted into lifetime membership, and more than 553 chapters have been established throughout the United States and Puerto Rico.

TriBeta was founded in 1922 at Oklahoma City University--the Alpha Chapter--by Dr. Frank G. Brooks and a group of his students. The idea of an honor and professional society for biology students spread rapidly and by 1925, the society was a national organization. Biennial national conventions of student and faculty members began in that year and in 1930 the society journal, BIOS, began publication of student research, articles of interest to biologists and society news. As the society grew, it was divided into regional and district groups, each of which holds a convention annually. At the heart of every district and national meeting are student research papers presented in the style of graduate meetings. Awards are given for outstanding individual and chapter accomplishment.

National registration fees help support 15 district conventions every year and the national convention every other year. Just as the local chapter is the center of TriBeta programs, the district convention is the most important regional project. It offers student members a chance to report their research and to hear from outstanding graduate investigators and teachers who give invited lectures and hold informal discussions. Like graduate society meetings, the national conventions offer a chance to share current research and discuss scientific issues. Field trips have become an important part of the national convention which is often centered around some biological feature unique to the convention locale. Students who present papers at the national convention are eligible for research stipends. TriBeta also helps defray travel costs by offering travel grants to chapters attending the convention.


Tri-Beta National Biological Honor Society

The list of current members and officers:

President             Terrell Myers
Vice President     Jodi-Ann Foster
Secretary             Tahlar McIntosh
Treasurer             Mfon Ekanem
Historian              Diamond Austin

Current Members:
Uzoamaka Agubokwu
Diamond Austin
Jataun Cobb
Jhoneil Cooper
Tierra Cowan
Darah Doubt-Swinton
Shauna Ebanks
Mfon Ekanem
Jodi-Ann Foster
Shaquana Henley
Patrick Ihejirika
Tahlar McIntosh
Anup Misra
Terrell Myers
Chinyere Nnodi
Isata Panda
Decland Paul-Roper
Erin Washington



Faculty Research Projects!


Student Research Opportunities!

    Follow us on Facebook Twatch us on Twitter Google +

Go to the top of the page