President's Cabinet Meeting
April 23, 2002

Attendees:   President Ivory V. Nelson, Vice President Howard E. Merlin, Vice President Michael B. Hill, Vice President William B. Bynum, Vice President Saligrama C. SubbaRao, Ms. Diane M. Brown

ONR Grant - ONR grant number N00014-00-1-0069 (LASER) is scheduled to end on June 30, 2002.  However, funding is available to complete support of undergraduate students currently receiving scholarships under the grant.  Lincoln will submit the required renewal proposal to request funding with a three-year grant renewal.  In addition, proposal efforts are underway to secure funding to continue the LASER program at Lincoln University.

Pennsylvania State Grant Program - The Governor's 2002-03 Budget Proposal contains only a 2% increase in the PA State Grant Program administered by PHEAA.  PHEAA is concerned that projections of double-digit college tuition inflation indicate this modest increase may not allow the program to provide aid for 7,000 of the students who currently receive State Grant awards.

University Convocations - The President with the concurrence of the Cabinet approved a recommendation to institute a formal program of "University Convocations."  The program includes four "University Convocations" during the school year: "State of the University" Convocation in September, "Homecoming" Convocation in October, "MLK/Black History" Convocation in February, and the "Honors" Convocation in March.  Efforts will be made to bring in nationally acclaimed and renowned speakers for all Convocations except the State of the University Convocation at which the President will address the entire University campus.  The administration will endeavor to identify funds in the 2002-03 budget to support the restructured "University Convocations" program.

"International Scholars" Scholarships - In continuing its long and distinguished history of educating international students, Lincoln University has established "International Scholars" scholarships for international scholars admitted to the University.  The scholarships will be limited to 15 per academic year and will be awarded to students who possess at least a 3.3 grade point average and score at least 1000 on the SAT.  "International Scholars" scholarships will cover tuition and fees at Lincoln University and will be renewable for a maximum of three additional years should the "International Scholar" maintain a 3.5 cumulative grade point average and earn at least 30 credits each academic year.

Commonwealth Technology Grants - The Department of education announced $4.1 million in grants for 23 Pennsylvania colleges and universities to provide new and better technology for students.  The "Improving Technology at Colleges and Universities" (ITCU) program offers competitive grants up to $250,000.  Lincoln University will receive $127,192 for its successful grant proposal.

Legal Counsel - Mr. George Buchanan joined the Lincoln University staff as Legal Counsel on April 15, 2002.  Mr. Buchanan's initial responsibilities include:
1) Reviewing University Policies for Consistency/risk management
2) Identifying any needed University policies
3) Reviewing the following documents
a. Student Handbook
b. University Catalogue (On Web)
4) Union Negotiations for next year
a. Faculty - August 31, 2003
b. Secretarial - June 30, 2003
Becoming familiar with and understanding present contracts.  Identify issues.
5) Modus Operandi:
a. Material will be sent to Legal Counsel "prior" to any submission to Blank Rome Comisky & McCauley, the University's attorneys.
b. Consultation with Legal Counsel will occur "prior" to any question of Blank Rome Comisky & McCauley
6) Reviewing outstanding legal issues
7) Working with VPs and Human Resources.  Include Human Resources on all policy and personnel issues.

Student Affairs and Enrollment Management (SA&EM)

Admission Statistics for fall 2002 as of April 19, 2002
# of Undergraduate applications received for fall 2002……………… 3149
# of Undergraduate applications received for fall 2001……………… 2557

# of Undergraduate students admitted for fall 2002…………………. 1062
# of Undergraduate students admitted for fall 2001………………….   884

# of Graduate applications received for fall 2002……………………   107
# of Graduate applications received for fall 2001……………………     55

Fiscal Affairs
To help achieve a timely and accurate close of the books for the University's fiscal year ending June 30, 2002, purchase requisitions dated and received after May 31, 2002 will be processed as purchase orders applicable to the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2002.  Necessary exceptions must be clearly noted on the Purchase/Check Requisitions.

Academic Affairs
All full-time faculty members have been appointed to play a role in Lincoln's upcoming Periodic Review Report (PRR) for Middle States accreditation.  Attached is the list of faculty committee assignments.


 1. University
Co-chairs: Pat Joseph, William Garcia
(Mission, goals & objectives, Institutional integrity, catalogs, publications & promotional materials)
   Committee members:  Martin Drew, B. M. Henderson (on-leave 2001-2002), Chin-Mei Ma Yang, Diane Ambruso, Pallavi Pathak, Stanley Tsai, Kaukab Siddique

2.  Students and Student Services
Co-chairs: E. Babatunde,  Marie Nigro
(Recruitment, admissions, retention, student services, graduate students)
   Committee members: Donald Ford, Lenetta Lee, Cyrus Jones, Albert Bryson, Reginald Heyward, Doris Mayes, Kevin Favor, Janice-Marie McDonald (on leave 2001-2002); Benson Prigg, Jernice Lea

3.  Faculty
Co-chairs: Marilyn Button, Abbes Maazaoui
(Faculty profile; personnel issues: hiring, promotion, tenure, severance, evaluation; quality of instruction (teaching methods, innovations, needs)
   Committee members: Solomon Adekunle Lennell Dade, Judy Kinney, Neil Carlson, Patrick Darko, Lynn Roberts, Melvin Leaman

4.  Academic Programs and Resource Centers
Co-chairs: Dana Flint, Daryl Poe
(Programs and curricula, library/resource centers, computer and other labs, academic support services, innovation & experimentation)
   Committee members: Oswald Richards, Richard Cordes, Ken VanDover, M. Sneed- Moore, Virginia Smith, Valentia Soboleva, Mahinder Chopra, M. Getaneh

5.  Outcomes:  Student
Co-chairs:  Jim DeBoy, Delroy Louden
(Assessment of student learning:  what do we do and how do we know if it’s successful)
   Committee members:  Jean White-Butler, Yvonne Hilton, Zuoya Cao, Edward Gibson, Ali Barimani, Mazharul Huq, Carl Briscoe, Anthony DiFilippo (on leave 2001-2002)

6.  Outcomes:  Institutional
Co-chairs:  Dave Royer, Jeff Hoogeveen
(Assessment of institutional effectiveness:  how do we know what the rest of the university does and how do we know if it’s successful)
   Committee members:  K. R. Bhat, Sally Wagner, Maria Torres, Elizabeth Pitt, Goro Ngase, John Blankenbaker, Denise Hardy, Effie Bastas, Penny Kinsey

7.  Fiscal Planning, Resource Allocation, and Physical Plant
Co-chairs: Ganga Ramdas, Susan Safford
(Planning and resource allocation, plant and equipment, maintenance plan for the existing plant, budgeting and accounting)
   Committee members: Jeff Chapp, Susan Pevar, Mahasveta Barua,  Laurellen Treisner, Tong Banh, Zoran Milovanovich

8.  Governance
Co-Chairs:  Willie Williams,  Todd Herring
(Faculty governance, administration and governance, the governing board, ministration/organization)
   Committee members: Michael Davis, Oluropo Sekoni, Violet Plantz, Karen Taylor, Charles Pettaway, Terrance Johnson

Diane M. Brown
Assistant to the President

Return to President's Information Exchange.
Return to Homepage.