Faculty Development Awards 2008 - 2009


An announcement from the Vice President for Academic Affairs, Grant Venerable Ph.d.

As faculty development is central to any successful teaching enterprise, Lincoln University is pleased to make funding available for faculty members to work on scholarly and creative projects, which are ultimately beneficial to students and the teaching and learning. These projects are initiated annually by funding proposals submitted by Lincoln faculty to the Faculty Development Committee. The Committee then carefully evaluates each proposal for scholarly merit and the probability of improvement of the teaching and learning process. I am pleased to acknowledge the esteemed members of Lincoln University’s corps of instruction (below), who were successful recipients of a Faculty Development Award. Congratulations are in order for:


Department of English and Mass Communications

Marilyn D. Button, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
484-365-8145, mbutton@lincoln.edu,

Project(s):
Women with a Vision: a Model for University/Urban Engagement; Funding the Mass Communications Program at Lincoln University

Jayne Cubbage
Visiting Lecturer
484-365-7252, jcubbage@lincoln.edu

Project(s):
" Welcome to LUC-TV" Lincoln University Cable Access Training Program for Faculty, Staff and Students 2008 - 2009

Jeffrey L. Hoogeveen, Ph.D.
Professor,
Writing Program Administrator
484-365-7516, JHoogeveen@Lincoln.edu,

Project(s):
Involving and Benefiting Students at No Cost to Them: Adding Digital Rhetorical Modes in English 101 and 102


Department of Chemistry

K. Ramachandra Bhat, Ph.D.
Professor
484-365-7501, bhat@lincoln.edu

Project(s):
An exploratory study of DNA ligase I and recombination in mammals

Derrick J. Swinton, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
484-365-7496, dswinton@lincoln.edu

Project(s):
Understanding Protein Aggregation Using Single Molecule spectroscopy


Department of Education

Project(s):
Revision of the Oral Communications Program

Lynnette Mawhinney, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
484-365-7602, lmawhinney@lincoln.edu

Project(s):
A Life History Exploration of a Career in Education: Student Perspectives at an HBCU

Emery M. Petchauer, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor
484-365-7573, epetchauer@lincoln.edu

Project(s):
Shall We Overcome?: A Case Study of Praxis Preparation at a Historically Black University

York Williams, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
484-365-7579, ywilliams@lincoln.edu

Project(s):
The College Math and Writing Achievement Gap and Implications for College Students of color: Where do we go from here?


Department of Foreign Languages and Languages and Literatures

Maria I Charle Poza
Assistant Professor of Spanish
484-365-7238, mpoza@lincoln.edu

Project(s):
Spanish Oral Proficiency Assessment for Better Language Programs and More Proficient Students: The ACTFL OPI Certification


Department of Health, Physical Education & Recreation

James L. DeBoy, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
484-365-7390, luhper1111@aol.com

Project(s):
Improving Quantification Reasoning Across the HPER Curriculum

Jamie Mansell, MEd.
Lecturer, Assistant Athletic Trainer
484-365-7388, jmansell@lincoln.edu

Project(s):
Genotype and Mild Traumatic Brain Injury in Collegiate Athletes

Sally B. Wagner, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
484-365-7381, wagner@lincoln.edu

Project(s):
Design capstone course (HPR 415: Issues and Trends in Allied Health) that is a certified writing/research emphasis course.


Department of History and Political Science

Levi A. Nwachuku, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
484-365-8126, nwachuku@lincoln.edu

Project(s):
Begin a textbook titled, Introduction to History

Chieke E. Ihejirika, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
484-365-7203, cihejirika@lincoln.edu

Project(s):
Why are Middle Class Black Americans more Liberal than their White counterparts?

D. Zizwe Poe, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
484-365-7298, dpoe@lincoln.edu

Project(s):
Developing Nile Valley Civilization Learning Resource Objects


Master of Human Services Program

Linda J. Stine, Ph.D.
Professor
484-365-8213, stine@lincoln.edu

Project(s):
Proposal to Develop a Graduate Academic Services Website with an Online Tutoring Component


Langston Hughes Memorial Library

Tracey J. Hunter Hayes, MLS, MDiv.
Library Director and Associate Professor
484-365-7370, thunterhayes@lincoln.edu

Project(s):
Construction of an annotative bibliography of Civil Rights

Mahinder Chopra
Professor
484-365-7371, chopra@lincoln.edu

Project(s):
Participation in the "People to People Citizen Ambassador Program Special Libraries Delegation to China 2008"

Susan Gunn Pevar
Assistant Professor, Special Collections
484-365-7266, spevar@lincoln.edu

Project(s):
Attend a course in Special Collections Librarianship given at the University of Virginia's Rare Book School in Charlottesville, Virginia.


Department of Sociology and Anthropology

Patricia Joseph, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
484-365-7547, joseph@lincoln.edu

Project(s):
Examination of the Effects of Technology on Student Learning

Anthony DiFilippo, Ph.D.
Professor
484-365-7544, difilippo@lincoln.edu

Project(s):
Divisiveness and Synthesis in the Japan-North Korean Relationship: Broadening Student Awareness of Significant International Issues

Robert E. Millette, Ph.D.
Professor
484-365-7546, millette@lincoln.edu

Project(s):
Revise and publish doctoral dissertation, "Social Stratification Among Grenadians in Brooklyn . . . The Impact of Migration and Change."

Zoran Milovanovich, Ph.D.
Professor
484-365-7548, milovanovich@lincoln.edu

Project(s):
Online Instruction Material/WebCt Content Module